Pádraig Floyd scoops investment gong at industry awards

Delighted to announce that I was named fiduciary management journalist of the year at the 10th annual Towers Watson Media Awards 2015 last night.

Alas, there’s no pic as I couldn’t get there and there wasn’t time to organise a satellite link, but thank you very much to the judges.

A big shout out to all those friends who also did so well in the categories. Congratulations to you all – very well-deserved one and all.

The release is pasted below with all the winners listed. I may post a pic when I get my gong through the post.

Winners announced at Towers Watson Media Awards

LONDON, 30 April 2015 – The winners of the tenth annual Towers Watson Media Awards were announced last night at the Getty Images Gallery in London. The awards celebrate excellence in business journalism in the areas of human resources (HR), pensions, benefits and institutional investment.

The awards programme consisted of nine topic-specific journalism categories judged by an expert panel, which included senior industry figures such as Mary Humiston, Group HR Director at Rolls-Royce; Stella Chaplin, Head of Pension at Atkins Global; Chris Wagstaff, Investment Committee Chairman of MNRPF; and Arthur Walford, Chairman of the Bupa Pension Scheme. In addition, three new publication of the year awards were decided by public vote.

Paul Morris, regional leader for Towers Watson EMEA, said: “I congratulate the winners and highly commended journalists as the calibre of entries was once again extremely high. The business media has a vital role to play as a platform for sharing ideas and best practice, and for debating the important issues that impact our working lives. The hard work and skill that goes into producing high-quality articles is fully deserving of recognition with these awards.”

The annual awards attracted over 100 entries from journalists while more than 1,000 votes were received for the publication of the year awards.



HR journalist of the year

Winner: Jo Faragher, Freelance

Highly Commended: Rachel Savage, Management Today


HR technology journalist of the year

Winner: Jamie Lawrence, HR Zone

Highly Commended: Robert Crawford, Employee Benefits

Special Commendation: Sathnam Sanghera, The Times


Pay and rewards journalist of the year

Winner: Peter Crush, Freelance

Highly Commended: Claire Churchard, People Management



Personal finance pensions journalist of the year

Winner: Ruth Emery, The Sunday Times

Highly Commended: Katie Morley, Daily Telegraph


Pensions (technical) journalist of the year

Winner: Louise Farrand, Engaged Investor/Pensions Insight

Highly Commended: Mark Cobley, Financial News


Employee benefits journalist of the year

Winner: Peter Crush, Freelance

Highly Commended: Nick Martindale, Freelance

Special Commendation: Dawn Lewis, Pay & Benefits



Fiduciary management journalist of the year

Winner: Padraig Floyd, Freelance

Highly Commended: Liz Pfeuti, Chief Investment Officer

Special commendation: Allison Plager, Taxation


DC investment journalist of the year

Winner: Louise Farrand, Engaged Investor/Pensions Insight

Highly Commended: Mark Cobley, Financial News


Insurance investment journalist of the year

Winner: Charlie Thomas from Insurance Insider

Highly Commended: Callum Tanner, Insurance Risk



HR publication of the year – People Management

Pensions/Benefits publication of the year – Employee Benefits

Institutional Investment publication of the year – Chief Investment Officer



Spoilt for choice

My article on multi-asset investing in the November issue of Portfolio Institutional.Featured image

portfolio institutional online | Spoilt for choice.